A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Sin Ming KO
高先明 | KO Sin Ming

Inside everyone there is a secret mansion and a light that illuminates one’s heart. My secret mansion is film, which captures artistic truth as well as the truth of life. It comes from life, yet is higher than life. It is a light that never goes out. It is hope.


KO Sin-ming was born in Hong Kong in 1963. After graduating from ATV’s second actor’s training course in 1983, Ko started to work behind the camera, first as production assistant, and gradually rose through the ranks to become a director. He was responsible for various television series, including The Rise of the Great Wall - Emperor Qin Shi Huang (1986) and The Rise and Fall of Qing Dynasty (1987). He joined Johnny Mak Production in 1989, and worked on various productions as assistant director and production manager, including The Truth - Final Episode (1989) and Underground Express (1990). Ko then joined TVB and directed several series such as Rainbow (1991), Land of Glory (1991), Rage and Passion (1992) and Romance Beyond (1992). In 1993, Ko became the head of productions at Wins Entertainment, and produced and directed the film Kidnap of Wong Chak Fai (1993), as well as a series of tele-features such as Kung Fu Mistress (1994), Yuppies Love (1994), A Friend’s Wife (1995) and Fallen Couple (1995).

Ko’s wealth of experience and impeccable work ethics were recognized by many Mainland film production companies, and he subsequently produced many film and TV series in China. Over the years he was responsible for such Mainland series as Moonlight Not Ever (2002), Kung Fu Soccer (2004) and The New Friendship Does Not Have the Price (2008). His latest output included Love in Spring (2013).

Year Chinese name English name Directors
2004 《精裝追女仔2004》
Love is a Many Stupid Thing WONG Jing
1995 《朋友妻》
A Friend's Wife
1995 《落難賊鴛鴦》
Fallen Couple
1994 《神鳳苗翠花》
Kung Fu Mistress
1994 《香港愛的故事之情人》
Yuppies Love
1993 《綁架黃七輝》
Kidnap of Wong Chak Fai