A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Kai Ming Ivan LAI
黎繼明 | LAI Kai Ming Ivan



Ivan Lai Kai-ming graduated from Wah Yan College, Kowloon and joined TVB in 1976 as production assistant, moving up to director in 1979. He entered film in 1980, working at companies such as Bang Bang Films, Century Motion Picture, Lo Wei Motion Picture, Molesworth, Magnum Films, Golden Harvest and Mandarin Films. He had been assistant director for Dennis Yu, Kirk Wong and Terry Tong and had worked as production coordinator and post-production manager before moving on to director and producer.

His first directorial feature is Thank You, Sir (1989) and his sophomore project is The Blue Jean Monster (1991). In the next five years, Lai directed seven Category III films, some of which triggered controversies because of their depictions of violence. In 2000, he directed several digital films, after which he returned to TVB. As senior director, he was responsible for such shows as Golden Faith (2002), Triumph in the Skies (2003), Wars of In- Laws (2005) and Gun Metal Grey (2010). One episode of Wars of In-Laws was nominated for an International Emmy Award in the United States.

In 2013, Lai left TVB, turning to direct films and television programs in China.

Year Chinese name English name Directors
2003 《赤子拳王》
Boxer's Story
2002 《橫財就手》
Windfall Profit?
2001 《陰陽路[ 九] 之命轉乾坤》
Troublesome Night 9
2001 《夜車之血青年》
Hot Rod
2001 《監獄風雲之夜囚》
Prison on Fire - Plaintive Destiny
2001 《風水賭神》
Feng Shui and Gambling
2001 《迷離警界之蘭鬼坊》
Twilight Zone Cops : My Spirited Wife
2001 《迷離警界之鬼車》
Twilight Zone Cops: Ghost Driven
2001 《金鴨》
Golden Duck
2000 《真愛》
True Love
1999 《黑道風雲之收數王》
The King of Debt Collecting Agent
1998 《邪教檔案之末日風暴》
1997 《赤足驚魂》
The Peeping Tom
1996 《孽慾追擊檔案之邪殺》
The Imp
1995 《玻璃鎗的愛》
Love, Guns & Glass LAI Kai Keung
1995 《整容》
A Fake Pretty Woman
1994 《滅門慘案II 借種》
Daughter of Darkness II
1994 《青樓十二房》
Ancient Chinese Whorehouse
1993 《滅門慘案之孽殺》
Daughter of Darkness
1992 《聊齋三集之燈草和尚》
Erotic Ghost Story III
1991 《着牛仔褲的鍾馗》
The Blue Jean Monster
1989 《壯志雄心》
Thank You, Sir