A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Bruce LE
呂小龍 | LE Bruce

No details


Bruce Le, also known as Wong kin-lung, was born in 1950 in Rangoon, Burma (now Yangon, Myanmar). His father was of Chinese descent and his mother Burmese. Schooled at an early age in different disciplines of Chinese martial arts and karate, he operated a martial arts school in Macau in the 1960s. In the 1970s, he became an actor at Shaw Brothers, playing small roles in action films in the name of Wong Kin-lung, not receiving much notice until director Wong Fung cast him in a major supporting part in Rivals of Kung Fu (1974). His career enjoyed a fortuitous kick after Bruce Lee died in 1973, when he was groomed to be a star as part of the film industry’s rush to fill the void created by the superstar’s death. Changing his name to Bruce Le, he starred in a slew of kung fu films, including Bruce’s Deadly Fingers (196), Enter the Game of Death (1977) and The Clones of Bruce Lee (1977), doubling as choreographer on some of them.

In 1977, with the backing of American producer Dick Randall, Le started his own company, Dragon Films, with which he made his directorial debut Challenge of the Tiger (1977), in which he also starred in a Bruce Lee-inspired turn. The same strategy was used in several subsequent productions, such as Bruce the Super Hero (1979) and Bruce Strikes Back (1982).

In 1987, Le went to China to make Fire on the Great Wall (1987), an action film set in WWII. He later directed the co-production (with China) Comfort Women (1992), which was received favorably in the mainland. Yet, he soon left film to become a commodities trader. In 2013, after a hiatus of 20 years, Le re-entered the industry with the production of Eyes of Dawn, another film about comfort women shot in China.

Year Chinese name English name Directors
1992 《軍妓慰安婦》
Comfort Women
1990 《黑色走廊》
Black Spot
1990 《鬼狐》
Ghost of the Fox
1987 《龍火長城》
Fire on the Great Wall
1982 《凶終》
Bruce Strikes Back KONG Hung Joseph
1980 《醉蛇小子》
Bruce - King of Kung Fu LAU Daniel
1979 《黃金喋血》
Bruce the Super Hero
1977 《神龍猛探》
Challenge of the Tiger