A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Yan Kong Daniel LEE
李仁港 | LEE Yan Kong Daniel

No details


Daniel Lee Yan-kong was born and educated in Hong Kong, before he went to Canada and enrolled at the University of Windsor, majoring in visual arts and also studying film and fine arts. After graduation, Lee returned to Hong Kong in 1984 and began working in the film industry. He started out as an art director for television and film, and made a name for himself for his strong visual style and unique artistic sensibility.

Lee was lauded by action-film master Chang Cheh as one of the most important new directors of martial arts films. His directorial debut What Price Survival (1994), with its stunning imagery, brought him much praise and approval. Lee’s other films, such as Black Mask (1996), Moonlight Express (1999), A Fighter’s Blues (2000) and Dragon Squad (2005) were all critically acclaimed, and Dragon Squad was among the first films to be listed in the permanent collection by the National Museum of China. In 2008, Lee directed the epic martial arts extravaganza, Three Kingdoms: Resurrection of the Dragon, which was a resounding success and received the Best Art Direction prize at the 3rd Asian Film Awards. In late 2008, Three Kingdoms was chosen by the Curriculum Development Department of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region’s Education Bureau as part of the teaching materials for its Master Works and Audio-visual Adaptation module. Lee directed two further works, 14 Blades (2010) and White Vengeance (2011), and both did well at the box office and with the critics.

Year Chinese name English name Directors
2011 《鴻門宴》
White Vengeance
2010 《錦衣衛》
14 Blades
2008 《三國之見龍卸甲》
Three Kingdoms : Resurrection of the Dragon
2005 《猛龍》
Dragon Squad
2003 《少年阿虎》
Star Runner
2000 《阿虎》
A Fighter's Blues
1999 《星月童話》
Moonlight Express
1998 《我愛你》
Till Death Do Us Part
1996 《黑俠》
Black Mask
1994 《94 獨臂刀之情》
What Price Survival