A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Hoi Fung NGAI
魏海峰 | NGAI Hoi Fung

No details


Ngai Hoi-fung worked as camera assistant, grip and still photographer when he started in the Cantonese film industry in the 1940s. He had worked under longtime cinematographers Ho Look-ying and Chow Sze-ching for years. In his first turn as cinematographer—for the film Lion-Hearted Warrior—Ngai shared the role with Chow. Since director Ng Wui’s The Purplemisted Cup (1949), Ngai had shot close to 300 features in 25 years, working closely with directors the likes of Ng, Lee Tit, Lee Sun-fung, Chu Kea, Wu Pang and Wong Toi. Some of the most memorable films he shot as cinematographer includes Family (1953), Sworn Sisters (1954), The Lone Swan (1955), A Cold Winter Night (1955), The Bloody Sucker (1962) and A Hong Kong Woman (1964). The Obsessed (1975) was the last film he worked on as cinematographer.

Since 1966, Ngai had focused his career on writing and directing. His first script, The Warrant (1966), which he financed with leading man Woo Fung. Ngai’s directorial debut, Every Step of Alarm (1967), again stars Woo and financed by the actor.

Ngai has the distinction of directing Jackie Chan in the future superstar’s his first leading role in The Cub Tiger from Kwangtung (1973). That was followed by The Four Shaolin Challengers (1977), starring the kung-fu star Bruce Leung Siu-lung, and Ten Tigers of Shaolin (1978), again starring Leung and which Ngai also wrote. He also directed The Story of Drunken Master (1979), starring the renowned choreographer Simon Yuen Siutin and which Ngai also wrote. Ngai returned to the helm after a five-year break, directing The Young Hero of Shaolin (1984) and The Young Hero of Shaolin II (1986) in China. The last film he directed before retirement was Snake Fist (1994).

Year Chinese name English name Directors
1994 《青蛇殺手》
Snake Fist
1986 《新方世玉續集》
The Young Hero of Shaolin II
1984 《新方世玉》
The Young Hero of Shaolin
1979 《醉俠蘇乞兒》
The Story of Drunken Master WU Pang
1978 《廣東十虎》
Ten Tigers of Shaolin
1977 《黃飛鴻四大弟子》
The Four Shaolin Challengers
1974 《飛屍魔女》
The Witch
1973 《廣東小老虎》
The Cub Tiger from Kwangtung CHIN Hsin
1973 《龍虎灘》
Only the Brave Stands
1967 《一步一驚心》
Every Step of Alarm