A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Only variable references should be returned by reference

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 257

Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild - Directors - Sang SIU
蕭笙 | SIU Sang

No details


Siu Sang (1927- 2004) began his film career in the 1950s, when he did subtitles and ushered at cinemas. At age 30, he officially entered filmmaking, working as continuity person, screenwriter and assistant director.

In 1964, Siu directed his first film, The Flying Fox, a Cantonese wuxia film co-directed with Choi Cheong. Siu remained in the Cantonese cinema in the 1960s, directing over 20 films, most of which wuxia pictures. He had collaborated with some of the biggest Cantonese film stars at the time, including Connie Chan, Josephine Siao and Kenneth Tsang. The rise of television led Siu to work at Commercial Television, Rediffusion Television (RTV) and Television Broadcasts (TVB). In television, he was best remembered for producing highly popular wuxia drama series, such as Commercial Television’s The Legend of the Condor Heroes (1976), which spurred a trend of TV adaptations of Louis Cha’s novels. Siu’s best-known work at RTV includes Reincarnated (1979), Dragon Strikes (1979) and Dynasty (1980).

The 1980s was the peak of Siu’s career, when he worked for TVB, for which he continued to adapt Louis Cha novels into drama series, including The Demi-Gods & Semi-Devils (1982) and The Return of the Condor Heroes (1983), both with terrific ratings. In the 1990s, he joined Asia Television Limited (ATV), where he went on to produce drama series. Having worked in television for over forty years, Siu was credited with the discovery of many stars, including Andy Lau, Tony Leung Chiu-wai, Michael Miu, Felix Wong, Kent Tong, Leslie Cheung, Michelle Yim, Alex Man, Leon Lai, Ekin Cheng, Adia Chan, among others.

Year Chinese name English name Directors
1996 《神偷燕子李三》
The Hero of Swallow
1991 《表姐,妳玩口野!》
The Queen of Gamble
1982 《新天龍八部》
Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils
1969 《名劍天驕》
Famous Swordsman Tin Kiu LAW Kei
1969 《大破誅仙陣》
Shattering the Immortal's Array
1969 《天龍堡》
Sky Dragon Castle
1968 《武林大決鬥》
The Grand Duel
1968 《紅花血劍》
The Flower and the Sword
1968 《毒龍刀》
The Deadly Dragon Sword
1967 《玉郎三戲女將軍》
Lau Kam Ding – the Female General
1967 《玉女的秘密》
A Girl's Secret
1967 《七彩封神榜》
The Legend of Gods and Goddesses
1967 《聖火雄風大破火蓮陣》
How the Sacred Fire Heroic Winds Defeat the Fire Lotus Array
1966 《中原奇俠》
Hero of Midland
1966 《聖火雄風上集》
Sacred Fire, Heroic Wind ,Part 1
1966 《聖火雄風下集》
Sacred Fire, Heroic Wind ,Part 2
1966 《萬劫門上集》
The Infernal Gate ,Part 1
1966 《萬劫門大結局》
The Infernal Gate ,Part 2
1965 《玉面閰羅上集》
Beautiful Queen of Hell ,Part 1
1965 《哪吒三戲紅孩兒》
The Adventures of Nazha
1965 《武林聖火令上集》
Moslem Sacred Fire Decree ,Part 1
1965 《玉面閰羅下集》
Beautiful Queen of Hell ,Part 2
1965 《武林聖火令大結局》
Moslem Sacred Fire Decree
1964 《萬變飛狐》
The Flying Fox
1964 《孫悟空七打九尾狐》
Seven Fights with Nine Tail Fox